You can cancel a subscription anytime by going to the Subscriptions grid for a Customer and clicking the Details button. At the bottom of the Subscription page, you will see a button to Cancel Subscription.
When cancelling, you have three choices as to what to do with the charges and earnings associated with that subscription:
- Earn all charges will fully earn all of the charges associated with that subscription, and no charges will be reversed.
- Reverse unearned amounts of all charges will reverse those amounts into the customer's available funds (i.e., the customer will have a balance "on deposit"). You can then refund that amount to them if you wish to do so. The charges will show as partially earned in your revenue reports.
- Reverse all charges fully will put the full value of the charges back in the customer's available funds, where they can be refunded if you wish. All earnings associated with the charges will also be reversed.
Note also that you can cancel a customer's subscription even when they are in Suspended or On Hold status; this would be recommended, for example, if the customer was dormant or suspended for a period of time but about to return while not wanting them to have their previous subscription and intend to give them a new one. In this case, you would cancel the old subscription (using the above earnings options) before you bring them out of Suspension or On Hold so that the system will not attempt to collect on the old subscription once they are re-activated.